Apples

Apples 101 – About Jazz Apples

Apples 101 – About Jazz Apples

Origin
Jazz apples originated in New Zealand in the 1980s. They are a cross between Braeburn and Royal Gala apples. Their popularity has grown to the point that they are now grown around the world in Chile, Europe, Australia, the UK, and in Washington state in America. To ensure consistency in flavor, texture, and appearance, Jazz apples may only be grown under special license by select growers, so you will not find Jazz apple trees in your local nursery.

Since Jazz apples are grown in both the northern and southern hemispheres, coupled with the fact that they have a long storage life, they are available year-round.

Nutrition and Health Benefits
Apples are high in fiber, Vitamin C, and potassium. They also contain some Vitamin A, calcium, iron, phosphorus, Vitamins E, B1, B2, and B6, and folic acid. They are an excellent source phytochemicals or antioxidants, especially quercetin, catechin and procyanidin B2. Antioxidants such as these have been shown to help prevent Alzheimer’s disease, lower cholesterol levels, and prevent and slow the development of some cancers. It is important to eat the peel of apples, if at all possible, since many of the nutrients are found in the skin.

Antioxidant Protection. Apples have been linked with a number of health benefits, many of which are associated with their high levels of phytochemicals, including quercetin and catechin which are strong antioxidants. Flavonoids and other antioxidants, as found in apples have been studied for their ability to stop free radicals that cause damage at the cellular level. That damage can lead to serious health problems such as heart disease, Alzheimer’s disease, dementia, cancer, diabetes, and other health issues. Consuming apples on a regular basis can help to keep your body supplied with these important compounds, warding off disease in the process.

Anticancer Properties. In a study reported in 2007 in the journal Food and Chemical Toxicology, the antioxidants in apples were shown to help ward off colon cancer, protecting against DNA damage, improving cell barrier function, and inhibiting invasion of mutated cells. Researchers concluded that apple phenolic compounds were shown to beneficially influence key stages of carcinogenesis of colon cells in vitro.

In a study reported in 2000 in the journal Nature, researchers found that whole apple extracts inhibited the growth of colon and also liver cancer cells, in vitro. Researchers attributed the effects to the antioxidants, including Vitamin C found in apples. They concluded that whole fruit may be more effective than taking the antioxidants in supplement form. Other studies have shown that apples can help lower the risk of other types of cancer too, such as breast and lung cancers. Another reason to eat your apples!

Asthma Protection. A large study reported in 2011 in the journal Advanced Nutrition involving 68,000 women found that those who ate the most apples had the lowest risk of asthma. Researchers pointed out that apple skin contains the flavonoid quercetin, which helps to regulate the immune system and reduce inflammation, thereby protecting lungs from oxidative damage and reducing the risk of asthma.

Gastrointestinal Health. In 2017, a study reported in the journal Microbiology Ecology, researchers found that pectin, a fiber found in apple peels and other fruits, has a prebiotic effect on intestinal microbes that has anti-inflammatory effects. This suggests that pectin helps to reduce inflammation in the intestines with the help of specific bacterial species within our gut microbiome. Red apples were found to have the most anti-inflammatory nutrients, especially when compared to green-skinned apples.

Cardiovascular Health. Jazz apples are high in pectin, a water-soluble fiber. Soluble fiber is known for helping to keep blood cholesterol levels down by binding with bile in the intestinal tract and removing it with the feces. This forces the liver to make more bile from existing cholesterol, helping to keep blood cholesterol levels down.

Researchers at The University of Western Australia and the Department of Agriculture and Food examined the heart health benefits of apples high in flavonoids. They found that flavonoid-rich apples improved blood vessel relaxation and enhanced nitric oxide status, which causes blood vessels to relax. This, in turn, promotes lower blood pressure, lowering the risk of heart disease. Furthermore, antioxidants found in apples have been shown to help lower LDL (low-density lipoprotein) cholesterol, the type that is associated with a greater risk of heart disease.

Characteristics of Jazz Apples
Appearance. Jazz apples are round with a rosy red skin that often has yellow, orange, and green undertones. For the best flavor, opt for Jazz apples that have the most red in them, as they will have the best flavor.

Flavor and Texture. The flavor of Jazz apples is a delicious sweet-tart with a hint of pear. They are low in acid. Those with a brighter red color will have a better flavor than those that are lighter with large amounts of yellow. The creamy yellow flesh is juicy and very crisp.

Storage/Shelf-Life.  To maintain the longest life, store Jazz apples in the crisper drawer of your refrigerator, with the air vent open (on the fruit setting). This will allow the ethylene gas they produce to escape the drawer while maintaining a dry environment, allowing for the longest storage life. If desired, a drawer liner may be used to help keep them from getting bruised while absorbing any extra moisture that builds up in the drawer.

Best Uses for Jazz Apples
Fresh. Like most apples, Jazz apples are excellent in any fresh application. They pair well with blue, goat, cheddar, and gouda cheeses. They are excellent in salads and served with dips, especially caramel. Add thin slices to sandwiches and burgers.

Baking. Jazz apples are an excellent choice in any baking application. Their flesh and flavor both hold up well when baked, so they are a good choice for baked apples. They may also be included in pies, tarts, galettes, crisps, and dumplings. They can also be baked into muffins, cakes, and bread. They can be roasted along with vegetables or even added to poultry stuffing for sweetness and moisture.

Cooking. Jazz apples may be cooked in dishes where you still want the apple to maintain its shape and some texture. Since the texture of Jazz apples holds up well with baking and cooking, they are not the best candidate for making applesauce, unless you prefer applesauce that is a little chewy. The flavor of Jazz apples pairs exceptionally well with fennel, pork, pear, ginger, cinnamon and poultry.

Drying. Because Jazz apples are crisp with a sweet-tart flavor, they will hold up well and have a good flavor when dehydrated. Be sure to treat them with lemon water, or some acidic solution first to help prevent them from browning during the drying process.

Recipe Links
Jazz Apple Pizza https://jazzapple.com/us/recipes/jazz-apple-pizza/

Vanilla Chia Pudding with Cinnamon Apples https://foodandnutrition.org/blogs/stone-soup/almonds/vanilla-chia-pudding-cinnamon-apples/

Jazzy Apple Ginger Juice https://healthyhappylife.com/jazzy-apple-ginger-juice-fresh-pressed/

Blackened Fish Tacos with Jazz Apple Cabbage Slaw https://jazzapple.com/us/recipes/blackened-fish-tacos-jazz-apple-cabbage-slaw/

Apple Walnut Tuna Salad https://wellnessmama.com/1738/apple-walnut-tuna-salad/

Easy Grilled Apples https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/easy-grilled-apples/

Grilled Chicken and Apple Kebabs https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/grilled-chicken-apple-kebabs/

Waldorf Salad https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/waldorf-salad/

Kale and Apple Salad https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/kale-apple-salad/

Spinach and Apple Salad https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/spinach-apple-salad/

Smoky Apple and Butternut Squash Soup https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/smokey-apple-butternut-squash-soup/

Apple Chai Spice Granola https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/apple-chai-spice-granola/

Overnight Oatmeal with Apples https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/overnight-oatmeal-apples/

Apple-Carrot Morning Glory Muffins https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/apple-carrot-morning-glory-muffins-2/

Apple-Coconut Quinoa Cereal https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/apple-coconut-quinoa-cereal-2/

Shamrock Smoothie https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/green-apple-shamrock-smoothie/

Tart Apple, Strawberry, and Basil Hidden Greens Smoothie https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/healthy-smoothie/

Kale and Spinach Chop Salad with Apples https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/recipes/kale-and-spinach-chop-salad-with-stemilt-apples/

Resources
https://jazzapple.com/us/

https://minnetonkaorchards.com/jazz-apples/

https://specialtyproduce.com/produce/Jazz_Apples_6697.php

https://appleforthat.stemilt.com/

https://minnetonkaorchards.com/how-to-dehydrate-apples/

https://www.livestrong.com/article/289067-list-of-foods-high-in-pectin/

https://www.cooksillustrated.com/how_tos/5775-jazz-apples%20fr

https://www.cooksillustrated.com/how_tos/5775-jazz-apples

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/10-health-benefits-of-apples

https://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/benefits-apples

https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/food-features/apples/

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/foods/apples#plant-compounds

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.